A felony is a more serious criminal offense than a misdemeanor, for which an accused may be sentenced to a state prison for a period of incarceration between six months and life. Fines for felonies may be up to $10,000.
Some of the more common felonies include aggravated assault, robbery, drug sales, arson, and third time DWI offenders. There are five categories of felony charges in Texas.
A misdemeanor is a criminal offense punishable by up to one year in the county jail, or fines of up to $4,000, or both. Common misdemeanors include simple assault, thefts and DWI. There are three classes of misdemeanor charges in Texas – Class A, Class B and Class C.