Law Office of Robert Keates 700 Lavaca St #1400, Austin TX 78701 512-800-3741
Austin Criminal Defense Lawyer offering Student Discounts and Payment Plans
keates law firm

MARIJUANA & DRUG OFFENSES

 

Minor in Consumption, Minor in Possession of Alcohol

law banner


What is  Possession of Alcohol by Minor (MIP) or Minor in Consumption (MIC)? Possession or Consumption of Alcohol by Minor is an offense where a person under the age of 21 possesses or consumes alcohol.

For Minor in Possession on Alcohol (MIP), the person need not have consumed the alcohol or be intoxicated; it is enough to merely possess the alcohol. 

For Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor (MIC) is where a person under 21 years of age ingests or drinks an alcoholic beverage. The minor need not be drunk or intoxicated.

What makes MIC and MIP illegal? The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code Sec. 106.05. POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL BY A MINOR makes it illegal for a person under 21 to possess or have control over alcohol or alcoholic beverages.

Likewise, the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code Sec. 106.04. CONSUMPTION OF ALCOHOL BY A MINOR makes it illegal when a minor consumes an alcoholic beverage.

What are the Punishments? 

For individuals arrested for Possession of Alcohol by a Minor, the offense is considered a Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by fines of up to $500, along with the potential to Suspend a Driver's License or Delay the ability to obtain one. For repeat offenders, who have been previously convicted at least twice of an offense to which this section applies, the offense is punishable by: (1) a fine of not less than $250 or more than $2,000;(2) confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days; or (3) both the fine and confinement

For individuals arrested for Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor, the offense is considered a Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by fines of up to $500, along with the potential to Suspend a Driver's License or Delay the ability to obtain one. For repeat offenders, who have been previously convicted at least twice of an offense to which this section applies, the offense is punishable by: (1) a fine of not less than $250 or more than $2,000;(2) confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days; or (3) both the fine and confinement.

Common Criminal Cases Involving Possession of Alcohol by a Minor Arrests: The most common Possession of Alcohol by a Minor arrests are the result of being stopped in a car or dorm room with beer or wine, or being at a party where alcohol is being served. The most common Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor arrests involve curfew violations where officers stop minors on the street or at a party.

Also see:

UNDERAGE PURCHASE OF ALCOHOL BY MINOR

What is it? Underage Purchase of Alcohol by a Minor is a criminal offense prohibiting a person under 21 years of age from purchasing an alcoholic beverage. The individual need not be drunk or even plan on drinking themselves; mere purchase is enough.

What makes it illegal? The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code Sec. 106.02. PURCHASE OF ALCOHOL BY A MINOR indicates that a person commits an offense if the person is under 21 years of age and the minor purchases an alcoholic beverage.

What are the Punishments? Same as MIP/MIC above.

Common Criminal Cases Involving Underage Purchase of Alcohol by a Minor Arrests: The most common Underage Purchase of Alcohol by a Minor arrests are the result of being stopped after purchasing alcohol in a store or bar that is under observation by law enforcement, or where a Minor is stopped in a car or on the street with freshly purchased alcohol.

Be sure to read about the potential punishments for Underage Drinking:

For More Information, try: Texas Criminal Law Blog & Discounts and Payment Plans



Call Us for a Free Consultation at 512-800-3741

DWI & ALCOHOL OFFENSES

THEFT OFFENSES

ASSAULT & VIOLENT OFFENSES

UNDERAGE DRINKING OFFENSES
Minor in Possession
Minor in Consumption
Misidentification of Age
Public Intoxication
Open Container
Urination in Public
Excessive Noise Tickets

DRIVER'S LICENSE OFFENSES

EXPUNCTIONS & YOUR RECORD

OTHER OFFENSES


Free Case Evaluation

Frequently Asked Questions

DWI FAQS
Alcohol Offense FAQs
               
Find us on: Google+ - Facebook :: Twitter :: Youtube
 
     
   
                   
 
Law Office of Robert Keates
700 Lavaca St #1400 Austin, TX 78701 URL of Map
Phone: 512-800-3741 - Fax: 512-870-9403
Attorney

Business Hours: M-F 9:00am to 5:30pm
Office Visits by Appointment Only

Serving Austin Travis County, and San Marcos, Hays County Texas

Law Office of Robert Keates

700 Lavaca St #1400 Austin, TX 512-800-3741
Austin Lawyer handling Misdemeanor and Felony Criminal Cases 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews
 
   
   
   
   
   
   
     
   
  All Rights Reserved 2006+ by Robert Keates  
Untitled Document