Theft Punishments & Penalties in Travis County

Punishments, Penalties of a Theft Conviction in Travis County

Theft Conviction

Punishments for Theft Conviction

The following applies only upon Conviction or Deferred Adjudication.

State of Texas Theft Penalties:

Be sure to look up the Offense Designation to reference the sentencing range below. Keep in mind that the Texas Sentencing Ranges are just that; ranges. A judge or jury may sentence a defendant to any length of jail or prison time between the minimum and maximum length allowed by law for type of offense.


Sentencing Chart - Theft

Punishments for Theft Conviction: Theft at larger values lead to higher levels of charges and punishments.

Value of items stolen Level of Offense Punishment Fines
less than $50 Class C Misdemeanor Not Jailable No more than $500 fines
$50 or more but less than $500 Class B Misdemeanor Not more than 180 days in a county jail and/or no more than $2,000 fines
$500 or more but less than $1,500 Class A Misdemeanor Not more than 1 year in a county jail and/or no more than $4,000 fines
$1,500 or more but less than $20,000 State jail felony 180 days to 2 years in a state jail and/or no more than $10,000 fines

Call now for a Free Lawyer Consultation.


Read Our Lawyer Reviews & Testimonials