Values of Theft and Classifications

Values of Theft and Classifications in Travis County

Theft Conviction

Different Punishments for Thefts

What are the differences in punishments for Theft Arrests and Convictions for stealing different values. For example, if I am arrested for stealing something valued at $125, what is the charge and theft penalty.

Answer:

The following pertains only to Theft offenses as charged in Texas Criminal Penal Code Sec. 31.03.

  • less than $50 is a Class C misdemeanor
  • $50 or more but less than $500 is a Class B Misdemeanor
  • $500 or more but less than $1,500 is a Class A misdemeanor
  • $1,500 or more but less than $20,000 is a state jail felony
  • $20,000 or more but less than $100,000 felony of the third degree
  • $100,000 or more but less than $200,000 felony of the second degree
  • $200,000 or more felony of the first degree

If the value of items stolen is not apparent or difficult to ascertain, then Texas Criminal Penal Code Section 31.08 is used, which states (in part) that the value is the "the fair market value of the property."



Call now for a Free Lawyer Consultation.


Read Our Lawyer Reviews & Testimonials